Slow Cooker Skinny Pumpkin Soup

Last week, I posted one of my favorite recipes of all time, my Sugar Free Pumpkin Muffins. Not surprisingly, it was my most popular post yet! Ironically, I was already planning another pumpkin recipe for this week, so I’m sticking with a theme here!

Most pumpkin soups are loaded with heavy cream to make it rich. This one is made with Greek yogurt instead, which is not only way lower calorie and fat, but adds an excellent dose of protein to this meatless soup! I also use gluten free chili seasoning and low sodium chicken broth, because everything helps! It can also be made vegetarian with mushroom or veggie broth!

However, the best part of this soup is by far the apple cider. Cider, to me, screams fall, especially early fall before the Holidays arrive. It adds a sweetness and a crispness to this soup that is unbelievable! One bite, and it’s 50 degrees outside and you’re in a sweater. At least mentally.

A further reason this soup is perfect is it’s only a few ingredients, most of which are pantry stored, and it takes four seconds to throw in a crockpot. So, I’m not taking up more than my allotted 1/3 of my apartment kitchen, and I can put it together before class instead of putting on makeup and have a huge pot of soup ready tonight!

It really does make a lot, by the way. I will be freezing it in individual portions and putting one in the fridge before bed every night.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 1 tablespoon butter or oil
  • 1 packet chili seasoning or your own mix of salt, pepper, cumin, and chili powder
  • 2 59 oz cans pumpkin (that’s the giant size that makes two pies)
  • 1 cup apple cider
  • 4 cups chicken broth or veggie broth (that’s one box)
  • 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

To Prepare:

  • In a medium sized pan, melt the butter. Sauté the onion in the chili seasoning until translucent, like  4 minutes. Dump into crockpot.
  • In a mixing bowl, whisk together the cider, pumpkin, and broth until smooth. Pour into crockpot and stir everything together.
  • Cover and cook on high 4 hours, then stir in the Greek yogurt and serve!

How about you top it with popcorn, crumbled rice cake, chives, shredded cheddar, sour cream, or a flipping grilled cheese?! Mmmmmm

Also, don’t forget you can freeze this thing! Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment