Bacon N’ Cheddar Quiche

music box

So, here’s the deal. I don’t really like quiche. Growing up, my mother always over-baked it, used too much cream, and threw in a bunch of seasonings that really didn’t belong.

I have tried other recipes, with other fillings and flavors, and I just can’t stand the stuff.

However, I can, objectively, understand that a lot of people in the world care for quiche. I get the convenience factor: it’s good at several temperatures, it’s versatile, it can be breakfast, lunch, or dinner. It can be a complete meal without a side dish. I get it.

I just don’t like it.

Why, then, am I posting a recipe that I cannot eat? Isn’t that hypocritical, untrustworthy, etc? Shouldn’t I have lied and said that I love the stuff?

I didn’t need to lie. I have seen this quiche be completely demolished every time I make it. I have seen people go back for third and fourth pieces.

This quiche has been requested for me to make, and I never have leftovers. Everyone absolutely loves the stuff.

Therefore, it seems that this quiche must be doing something right.

So, for the sake of all of my quiche-lovers out there, here’s a new one to try. I’ll be ordering a pizza.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 unbaked deep dish pie crust (I use store bought for this. This meal is really fast and easy, don’t make it hard!)
  • 5 eggs
  • 1.5 cups half and half
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese
  • 8 strips cooked bacon, chopped
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • salt & pepper

Preheat the oven to 350

In a bowl, whisk together the eggs, half and half, salt, pepper.

In the crust, layer the onions, cheese, and bacon. Pour the egg mixture on top.

Put the quiche on a baking sheet in case it overflows. Trust me, it’s worth it.

Bake for 60 minutes, until puffed and a toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a comment