Pizza Craving Soup

music boxisp4

Ahh, pizza. Just the word elicits memories, both pleasant and unpleasant. Ordering pizza with friends during finals week? Pleasant. Pizza parties when you were 7 years old and little Johnny took the last four slices of cheese and only ate 2 but it didn’t matter because you got stuck with sausage? Less pleasant.

Ironically, sausage is now my favorite of the classic pizza flavors. Buffalo Chicken takes the overall prize though, because why not?

Adding to the role of pizza in my life is that I used to be able to get it anytime I wanted in the dining hall. I could get my two slices and a side salad and not feel nasty. Now, if I want pizza that isn’t frozen, I have to order a whole pizza! I simply should not eat a whole pizza before it goes bad, and freezing it just takes up space.

Also, let’s face it, pizza is pretty bad for you. Bread and cheese? Not terrible in moderation, but not a balanced meal.

The solution to portion control and a low-carb alternative? Frickin’ Pizza Soup!

It TOTALLY satisfies the pizza craving. All of the flavors I crave go right into the pot, and I don’t miss a thing. I can make a small batch for myself or a big batch for my friends, and it’s so much cheaper than buying pizza.

I probably didn’t even need to convince you to look at this recipe, but even if I did, I think I’ve done the job. Pizza soup? Done.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 pound ground Italian Turkey Sausage (or pork if you prefer)
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 14 oz can tomato sauce
  •  14.5 oz can diced tomatoes
  •  5oz can diced green chilis
  • 1 can artichoke hearts (okay, not a pizza ingredient, but I like them in here. Leave out if you don’t!)
  • 1 package pepperoni
  • 2 cups of your fav mushroom, chopped
  • 1 can hominy, white beans, or chickpeas (Also optional, but these bulk it up a bit)
  • LOTS of mozzarella cheese

TO PREPARE:
Brown sausage in a soup pot. Once brown, remove from pan and drain any fat. Add every other ingredient besides the mushrooms. Bring to simmer, then add mushrooms and sausage back in.

Once it’s hot, it’s done! Taste for seasoning; you may want more water or broth if it’s too acidic for you.

Serve in bowls with so much cheese.

Little Johnny won’t get his hands on this.

 

Leave a comment