BBQ Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

fruit cup

It’s summer time, which means BBQ is in the air. Unfortunately, BBQ is not exactly healthy. Rich sauce, fatty meat, bread, and infamous sides of mac and cheese and potato salad.

Now, there is nothing wrong with any of that! However, because I’m trying to eat lighter, I have been brainstorming healthier ways to get my BBQ fix.

There are all sorts of lowcarb BBQ sauce recipes out there using ethanol and coconut sugar and a bunch of ingredients I can’t afford or find. If you want to do that, go for it! More power to you. I, however, am not trying for a carb-free recipe here. I am simply cutting the carbs by ditching the bread and giving myself automatic portion control.

For me, that’s the balance. I let myself have my BBQ sauce, but I don’t eat too much of it. My calculations clocked one of these at about 365 calories, though different sauces and cheeses will change that. I served it with coleslaw for a very hearty meal that felt like summer!

This is also super quick, like 20 minutes. Feel free to change it up with sloppy joe filling, marinara sauce, ground chicken or turkey, added veggies, etc.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 portobello mushrooms
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 cup BBQ sauce
  • 4 slices cheddar cheese
  • 4 dill pickle spears

TO PREPARE:
Preheat oven to 350′
In a skillet, brown beef until cooked through. Add sauce and stir until combined.
Scoop insides out of mushrooms, leaving enough flesh to hold the filling.
Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray and place mushrooms on sheet.
Fill each mushroom with 1/4 of the beef mixture. Top with a slice of cheese.
Bake for 5-10 minutes, until cheese it melted and mushrooms have softened. It depends on how you like your mushrooms!
Top with a dill pickle spear! Serve with salad, coleslaw, grilled veggies, or sweet potato fries!

 

 

Leave a comment