Skinny Springfield Cashew Chicken

parfait

How many of my readers out there know that Cashew Chicken was not invented in any Asian country? It was, in fact, invented by a Chinese-American chef in Springfield, Missouri. Don’t worry- I didn’t know either.

So, when I moved to Springfield, I was surprised to see that cashew chicken was a real part of the culture. Every Chinese/Japanese-style restaurant has their own version. Even American-style restaurants feature it on the menu. The local food magazine does a “Best Cashew Chicken” category every year. Tourism magazines feature the Chef that invented the stuff (whose son is now serving it up in their own diner). I’m not kidding here- if you google the history of this deep-fried deliciousness, you’ll find it traced back to Springy.

I have probably seen the words “Cashew Chicken” more often in the past two years than I had in my entire life.

That’s not to say I’d never eaten it. My parents made a version at home using chicken thighs and jarred chicken gravy. Not exactly authentic, though perfectly yummy.

The real version in Springfield is deep-fried chicken chunks in a sticky sauce with cashews and some veggies, usually served over rice. Not exactly the kind of thing I can eat every day if I like my jeans to fit!

So, I made it a mission to invent a skinnier version of the classic that would make even the most discerning Missourian happy. I use powdered peanut butter to cut back on fat and calories in the sauce. I cook the chicken in very little oil without any breading. I eliminate the rice and load it up with all of these fresh vegetables. It’s nutritious, filling, and full of flavor.

It also just happens to be a one-skillet meal, so like, why wouldn’t you make this??

Here goes!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • Salt and pepper,
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 cups broccoli florets- cut them pretty small
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced
  • 1 cup sugar snap peas
  • ½ cup shredded carrots
  • 1 zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 3/4 cup unsalted cashews
  • 4 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 4 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
  • 4 tablespoons powdered peanut butter, such as PB2
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon grated ginger
  • 2 tablespoons water

To prepare:

Make the sauce: whisk together the soy sauce, peanut butter, honey, sesame oil, ginger, and water. Taste and add salt or pepper to your preference.

Heat olive oil in a very large skillet over medium-high heat. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Add chicken to pan and cook until browned on the outside, but not fully cooked in the middle.

Add the garlic, broccoli, bell pepper, peas, carrots, and zucchini. Cook, stirring, until veggies are tender and chicken is fully cooked. Add the cashews and stir to toast.

Pour the sauce over the top and garnish with green onions.

Serve and enjoy!

Leave a comment