Greek-ish Brown Rice Salad

Evaluation 2

My love for brown rice is a recent development. I’ve never been much of a rice eater, so growing up, I usually just kind of picked at the pile of rice pilaf hanging out on my plate.

However, when I started college, I suddenly found the tastiness that is brown rice. I love the earthy flavor, hearty texture, chewiness… it’s so much more complex than white rice. It reminds me almost of an oat.

Where did I make this discovery? At the build-your-own burrito place in the student union. They offer two rice varieties: brown and cilantro-lime. Well, anyone that’s read my blog regularly knows that I am one of those people born without a taste for cilantro. I won’t go into what it tastes like because this is a food blog, but I’ll leave it up to your imagination.

So, brown rice entered my life by default. I am obsessed. I am always looking for ways to use it.

This salad was born out of a love for brown rice, a garden full of mint, and a need for a side dish. We were having ribs and honeyed carrots, so I needed something bright and acidic. With mint, feta cheese, and red wine vinegar, the flavors in this salad remind me of a Greek restaurant. However, it’s not exactly authentic Greek cooking, so I’m calling it Greek-ish. It reminds me most of the filling in a stuffed grape leaf!

It’s also good cold, warm, or at room temperature, so it’s perfect for a potluck. Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 shallot, chopped finely
  • 1 1/2 cups instant brown rice
  • 3 cups low sodium chicken stock
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, toasted in a dry pan for a few minutes until smelly
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 2 tablespoons fresh mint, thinly sliced
  • 3 ounces feta cheese chunks

Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a medium sauce pan. Add shallot and saute’ over medium-high heat until transparent. Add the rice and stir for 2-3 minutes until toasted. Pour in the chicken stock.

Bring to a boil, then reduce to simmer for 10 minutes (or according to package directions). Let sit, COVERED, for ten minutes so the rice can absorb the the liquid.

Combine vinegar, oil, and salt/pepper to taste. Pour over the hot rice. Let rice cool to desired temperature (can be hot, warm, or even chilled).

Toss rice with walnuts, raisins, mint, and feta. Serve!

Leave a comment